Around Texas and the GBBC

I was in San Antonio this past weekend helping my son move from one apartment to another. Moving reguired three flights leaving and three flights arriving, needless to say we moved our tails off. In betwixt all the running around we saw tons of American Robins that are not seen in far South Texas which was a treat. More important though, and also to my good fortune, a Blue Jay.

Blue_jay_glamour

I remember the Blue Jays in Central and East Texas very well, but have not seen one in some time; I am more used to our area Green Jays now. Note the snow, not many photographs of Grren Jays in snow, I suspect.

Photo

I remember now … a Jay is a Jay is a Jay. Always the Tricksters, or The Toughs in the bird leixcon. Always up to no darn good.

I reported just over 17 speicies in the GBBC, but read a preliminary report today that the number of Snowy Owls this year is 628, with the next highest year in 2009 at only 237!  We’ve had reports of a Snowy in Dallas that’s been hanging around for a while … it looks like a record braking year!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Around Texas and the GBBC

  1. Urban Birder

    Yeah, I thought that was pretty awesome about this pix too Carolyn. Once in a life time shot for me most likely.

    Reply

Feedback! Feedback! It helps me give you more of what you want!